Biase Local Government Area

Learn about Biase Local Governmt Area.

Biase is a Local Government Area in Cross River State, Nigeria, headquartered in the town of Akpet Central, with an area of 1,310 km and a population of 169,183 at the 2006 census.

The people of Biase are direct descendants of Obutong town in Calabar. History has it that they migrated to present day Biase due to a brief conflict with their Efik brothers. The ancient killing twins was widely practiced by Biase people and their Efik brothers before Mary Slassor stopped it more than a century ago.

There are eleven (11) wards and 122 polling units/centres in Biase LGA. The wards are:

ABAYONG (11 Polling Units)
ADIM (8 Polling Units)
AGWAGUNE/OKURIKE (14 Polling Units)
AKPET/ABINI (14 Polling Units)
BIAKPAN (11 Polling Units)
EHOM (14 Polling Units)
EREI NORTH (8 Polling Units)
EREI SOUTH (11 Polling Units)
IKUN/ETONO (12 Polling Units)
UMON NORTH (11 Polling Units)
UMON SOUTH (8 Polling Units)

The Efik language is the main language of Biase people but several variations of the Efik language, such as Ubaghara and Ukwa, are also spoken in Biase.

Other major languages spoken in Biase are the Agwagune, Efut, Erei, Ubahara and Umon.

The postal code of the area is 542.

Biase people observe all Efik traditions and dance including Ekpe, Ekombi and Abang. The Ekpe Society is the authority in some parts of Biase whilst Agban is observed in Ubaghara, while Abbu is observed by the Agwagune, okurike and Erei north mostly which comprises (Umuolor, Ipene, Elu, Egbor, Obum) and Ijom across the River.

© Copyright 2017 Philip Obin - All Rights Reserved